Market rents, cap rates & costs


Prepared 9/16/2026. Every figure has a source. UNVERIFIED marks anything I could not confirm. "LLAYD file" means a document in research/source_text/, most often the Bowery Valuation appraisal of 1816 N. Charles (File No. 2300026257, effective 5/19/2023). That appraisal is the best property-specific market evidence available, but it is three years old.
KEY NUMBERS TO USE IN THE MODEL
| Assumption | Recommended base case | Sensitivity range | Basis (details below) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1BR rent (renovated, in-unit W/D) | $1,550/mo | $1,400 – $1,800 | Station North submarket avg $1,505 (HSA Q2-25); Mount Vernon 1BR $1,516 (RentCafe 8/26); Nelson Kohl 1BR $1,425–$1,500 (9/26); Bowery 2023 concluded $1,400. $1,800+ matches only amenitized Class A (The Fitzgerald). |
| 2BR rent | $2,100/mo | $1,900 – $2,300 | Mount Vernon 2BR $1,912 (RentCafe) and $1,961 (Zumper); Charles Village 2BR $1,747 (Zumper); Nelson Kohl 2BR $2,255 (874 SF); Fitzgerald 2BR from $2,493 |
| $1,800–$2,300 range in the BDC narrative | Defensible for 2BR / larger units. Aggressive for 1BR in Station North; show it as an upside scenario. | — | See §1 |
| Commercial rent | $25.00/SF/yr modified gross (≈$3,125/mo at 1,500 SF; ≈$2,500/mo at 1,200 SF) | $22 – $30/SF | Bowery comps on N. Charles $22–$25/SF MG (2023), concluded $22.50; 518 N. Charles $19 NNN + $3; 337 N. Charles $21/SF + CAM; TenantBase Baltimore neighborhood retail median $21.30 (Q2-26) |
| $3,200–$3,800/mo per storefront | Supportable only for spaces of about 1,300–1,500 SF ($25.60–$35/SF). For 1,000 SF it implies $38–$46/SF, well above comps. | — | See §2 |
| Residential vacancy + credit loss | 7% vacancy + 1% credit loss | 5% – 12% | Bowery used 7%; Baltimore City stabilized vacancy 8.2% and Station North 11.6% (HSA Q2-25); metro occupancy <95% (Yardi 8/26); DHCD floor is 5% |
| Commercial vacancy | 10%, plus 6–9 months initial lease-up | 5% – 15% | Bowery used 3% (2023, retail vacancy ≈2%); Baltimore retail vacancy 6.36% (TenantBase Q2-26). A conservative margin is appropriate for new small-bay retail on a block that still has vacancy. |
| Operating expense ratio | 38% of EGI (with full taxes); ≈30–33% while the CHAP credit is in effect | 30% – 45% | Bowery 2023: 38% OER; $4.80/SF opex excluding taxes |
| OpEx per residential unit (incl. taxes) | $6,500 – $8,000/unit/yr | $4,000 – $9,000 | DHCD underwriting band $4,000–$9,000/unit (excl. reserves) |
| Management fee | 5% of EGI | 4% – 6% | Bowery (range 2%–6%) |
| Replacement reserve | $300/unit/yr (res) + $0.20/SF (commercial) | — | DHCD minimum $300/unit; Bowery $0.20/SF |
| Rent growth / expense growth | 2.0% / 3.0% | 1% – 3% / 3% – 4% | DHCD requires ≤2% revenue and ≥3% expense trending; Yardi projects 1.9% Baltimore rent growth for 2026 |
| Going-in cap rate (stabilized valuation) | 7.50% | 7.00% – 8.50% | Bowery 2023: 7.50% concluded; broker survey 6.5–8.0%. The 10-yr Treasury is now ≈5.0% vs 3.8% in 2023, so don't compress. |
| Exit / terminal cap rate (Yr 10) | 8.00% | 7.50% – 8.75% | Base cap + 50 bp |
| Property tax rate | $2.360 per $100 = City $2.248 + State $0.112 | — | City BBMR FY2027; 1816 FY26 tax bill |
| Assessed value basis | Post-rehab assessment ≈ $195–$230/SF of GBA (Bowery comps averaged $197/SF) | — | Bowery tax analysis |
| CHAP credit effect | City tax on the rehab-driven assessment increase is credited for 10 years (Bowery modeled 100%). State tax still applies. | — | See file 03 |
| 10-yr Treasury | 5.02% (9/16/2026) | — | CNBC |
| Fed funds | 3.75%–4.00% (hiked 25 bp on 9/16/2026) | — | CNBC / Raisin |
| SOFR | ≈3.62%–3.64% (9/14–9/15/2026) | — | sofrrate.com / NY Fed |
| Prime (WSJ) | 6.75% last published (set 12/11/2025). Likely 7.00% after the 9/16 hike — UNVERIFIED. | — | Leader Bank / Bankrate |
| Senior bank / CDFI perm debt | 7.0% – 8.0%, 25–30-yr amortization (UNVERIFIED estimate: 10-yr Treasury + 200–300 bp) | 6.5% – 9.0% | Market-derived; get a term sheet |
| NIIF | 5.00% fixed; construction 18–24 mo interest-only (≤80% as-completed LTV); term ≤7 yrs (≤95% as-stabilized LTV); ≤1.5% origination | — | NIIF website (file 03) |
| Hard money (MD) | 11%–12% interest, 2–3 points, 12-mo interest-only term, ≤70% LTARV / ≤85% LTC | 9% – 15%; 1 – 4 pts | See §6. LLAYD's current Nextres loan on 1816 is 15%. |
| Hard cost, historic rowhouse gut rehab | $250/SF of GBA (before contingency) | $200 – $325/SF | DHCD 2025 rehab cost limits $202–$277/SF; local residential ranges $210–$360/SF. Professional judgment; replace with Tyjuan Amor's bid tabulation. |
| Hard-cost contingency | 10%–15% (use 12.5% for historic gut) | — | NYS HFA: 10% for rehab/adaptive reuse; Baltimore contractors advise 10–20% for pre-1970s stock |
| Construction cost escalation | ≈4%/yr (≈1%/quarter) | 3% – 6% | RLB Q2 2026 |
1. Residential rent evidence
1a. Market-level data
| Source (date) | Geography | Studio | 1BR | 2BR | 3BR | Overall / notes | URL |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RentCafe / Yardi Matrix (8/31/2026; 50+ unit buildings) | Baltimore City | $1,311 | $1,560 | $1,765 | $2,033 | Avg $1,650, +0.75% YoY. Charles Village avg $1,735; Mid-Town Belvedere $1,764; Mount Vernon $1,550 | https://www.rentcafe.com/average-rent-market-trends/us/md/baltimore-city/ |
| RentCafe / Yardi Matrix (8/31/2026) | Mount Vernon | $1,296 (437 SF) | $1,516 (648 SF) | $1,912 (977 SF) | n/a | Avg $1,550, −1.1% YoY; 47% of units rent for $1,501–$2,000 | https://www.rentcafe.com/average-rent-market-trends/us/md/baltimore-city/mount-vernon/ |
| Zumper (9/16/2026; listing medians) | Mount Vernon | $1,127 | $1,299 | $1,961 (+17% YoY) | $1,500 | Median $1,337 | https://www.zumper.com/rent-research/baltimore-md/mount-vernon |
| Zumper (9/2026) | Charles Village | $995 | $1,195 | $1,747 | $2,300 | Median $1,300 (−7% YoY); houses/condos ≈$2,300–$2,350 | https://www.zumper.com/rent-research/baltimore-md/charles-village |
| Apartments.com (2026) | Station North Arts District | — | ≈$1,441 | — | — | Search-result summary; page blocked to direct fetch (UNVERIFIED) | https://www.apartments.com/station-north-arts-district-baltimore-md/ |
| Harbor Stone Advisors, Baltimore City Q2 2025 | Station North submarket (737 units) | — | — | — | — | Avg rent $1,505; stabilized vacancy 11.6% | https://harborstoneadvisors.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/Baltimore-City-Q2-2025.pdf |
| Same | Mount Vernon (4,694 units) | — | — | — | — | Avg $1,479; vacancy 6.9% | same |
| Same | Charles Village / Old Goucher / Remington (1,612 units) | — | — | — | — | Avg $1,443; vacancy 6.4% | same |
| Same | Bolton Hill (776 units) | — | — | — | — | Avg $1,527; vacancy 8.6% | same |
| Same | Baltimore City overall | — | — | — | — | Stabilized vacancy 8.2%; rent growth +1.3% YoY | same |
| Yardi Matrix (8/31/2026) | Baltimore metro | — | — | — | — | Avg rent $1,774 (T3 to 6/2026); occupancy just under 95%; 2026 rent-growth forecast 1.9% | https://www.yardimatrix.com/blog/baltimore-multifamily-market-report/ |
1b. Property-level comparables (asking rents)
| Property | Location | Unit | SF | Asking rent | Date | URL |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nelson Kohl (Class A, 2018; gym, rooftop, W/D) | 20 E. Lanvale St. (≈2 blocks away) | Studio | 435 | $1,250 | 9/2026 | https://www.rentable.co/baltimore-md/nelson-kohl |
| Nelson Kohl | same | 1BR | 538–667 | $1,425–$1,500 | 9/2026 | same |
| Nelson Kohl | same | 2BR/2BA | 874 | $2,255 | 9/2026 | same |
| The Fitzgerald (luxury, amenitized) | 1201 W. Mount Royal Ave. (Bolton Hill/MICA edge) | Studio | 569 | from $1,823 | 9/16/2026 | https://www.apartmentlist.com/md/baltimore/the-fitzgerald--1 |
| The Fitzgerald | same | 1BR | 684–804 | $1,988–$2,297 | 9/16/2026 | same |
| The Fitzgerald | same | 2BR | 1,043–1,264 | $2,493–$3,026 | 9/16/2026 | same |
| 1201 North Charles (PMC) | Mount Vernon | 1BR | 350 | $1,225–$1,395 | 9/15/2026 | https://www.apartmentlist.com/md/baltimore/1201-north-charles |
| Bowery comps for 1816 (newly renovated 1BR) | Station North / Midtown | 1BR | — | Comps 3–5 averaged $1,472; Class B submarket avg $1,351; concluded $1,400 | 5/2023 | LLAYD file (Bowery appraisal, Income Approach) |
1c. What this means for the $1,800–$2,300 range
- 2BR / 2BA of 850–1,100 SF with luxury finishes: $1,900–$2,300 is supportable. Nelson Kohl gets $2,255 for 874 SF two blocks away, and the Mount Vernon 2BR averages are $1,912–$1,961.
- 1BR at $1,800+ is not supported by nearby comps. Nelson Kohl, a newer building with amenities, asks $1,425–$1,500. Only The Fitzgerald, with a full amenity package, gets $1,988+.
- A base-case 1BR rent of $1,500–$1,650 is defensible to a BDC or NIIF underwriter.
- Grow it at 2%/yr from a 2026 base to the stabilization year.
- The prior submission used $1,450 for 1BR (Exhibit E), which matches the market. Raising every unit to $1,800–$2,300 without unit-size and finish justification will draw questions.
- Recommendation: use a unit-by-unit rent roll with square footage, and show $1,800–$2,300 as the "upside / 2BR-heavy" scenario in the sensitivity table.
2. Ground-floor commercial rent evidence (N. Charles corridor)
| Comp | Size | Rent | Lease type | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2116 N. Charles St. (salon) | 1,091 SF | $22.00/SF | Modified gross | Apr 2023 | Bowery appraisal (LLAYD file) |
| 102 W. 25th St. (beauty bar) | 1,200 SF | $25.00/SF | MG | Jul 2022 | Bowery (LLAYD file) |
| 1110 N. Charles St. (spa) | 1,800 SF | $24.00 FSG (≈$22.50 MG adjusted) | FSG | Apr 2022 | Bowery (LLAYD file) |
| 808–840 Guilford Ave. (restaurant) | 4,902 SF | $18.00 NNN (≈$22.50 MG adjusted) | NNN | Oct 2022 | Bowery (LLAYD file) |
| Bowery conclusion for 1816's two commercial units | 1,200 SF + 1,080 SF | $22.50/SF MG ($2,250 + $2,025/mo) | MG | 5/2023 | Bowery (LLAYD file) |
| 337 N. Charles St. (McDowell Bldg., Mount Vernon) | 1,372 SF | $1.75/SF/mo (= $21/SF/yr ≈ $2,401/mo) + CAM | + CAM | 2026 listing (search summary; LoopNet blocked direct fetch) | https://www.loopnet.com/Listing/337-N-Charles-St-Baltimore-MD/33352591/ |
| 518 N. Charles St. (restaurant) | n/a | $19.00/SF + NNN est. $3.00 | NNN | 2025 | https://www.loopnet.com/Listing/518-N-Charles-St-Baltimore-MD/36620698/ |
| TenantBase, Baltimore Q2 2026 | — | Neighborhood retail median asking $21.30/SF; retail vacancy 6.36% | — | Q2 2026 | https://www.tenantbase.com/baltimore/q2-2026/ |
| LoopNet Baltimore retail (all listings) | 389 spaces | Avg asking ≈ $33/SF (includes downtown and prime) | mixed | 2026 (search summary; UNVERIFIED) | https://www.loopnet.com/search/retail-space/baltimore-md/for-lease/ |
Converting the BDC target to $/SF
| Space size | $3,200/mo | $3,800/mo |
|---|---|---|
| 1,000 SF | $38.40/SF/yr | $45.60/SF/yr |
| 1,200 SF | $32.00 | $38.00 |
| 1,500 SF | $25.60 | $30.40 |
- Conclusion. Bowery's 2023 $22.50/SF, grown 3%/yr to a 2028 stabilization, is about $26/SF. That supports ≈$3,250/mo for a 1,500 SF storefront but only ≈$2,170/mo for 1,000 SF.
- Use a $/SF-driven commercial rent roll.
- Put $3,200–$3,800 in the upside case unless you have signed LOIs.
- LOIs from committed tenants (e.g., the LLAYD Small Business Hub users) would be the strongest evidence for BDC.
- Lease structure. Modified gross is the most common structure for small Midtown retail (Bowery). Budget landlord-paid taxes and insurance on commercial space unless leases are NNN.
- TI and leasing costs. No local source found (UNVERIFIED). Budget a vanilla-box fit-out in hard costs, plus 1–2 months free rent and a 4–6% leasing commission as a placeholder.
3. Vacancy assumptions
| Source | Metric | URL |
|---|---|---|
| Harbor Stone Q2 2025 | Baltimore City stabilized vacancy 8.2%; Station North 11.6%; Mount Vernon 6.9% | https://harborstoneadvisors.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/Baltimore-City-Q2-2025.pdf |
| Harbor Stone (year-end 2025) | Metro vacancy ≈7.5% | https://harborstoneadvisors.com/five-takeaways-shaping-baltimore-multifamily-as-2025-winds-down/ |
| Yardi Matrix (8/2026) | Metro occupancy just under 95%, down 40 bp YoY | https://www.yardimatrix.com/blog/baltimore-multifamily-market-report/ |
| Marcus & Millichap 2026 forecast (search summary) | Class C vacancy ≈9%; Class A ≈4% | https://www.marcusmillichap.com/research/market-report/baltimore/baltimore-2026-investment-forecast-multifamily-market-report |
| MD DHCD 2026 Multifamily Guide | Minimum underwriting vacancy 5% (7% for FHA risk-share); projects needing ≥10% may be rejected | https://dhcd.maryland.gov/HousingDevelopment/Documents/rhf/2026-Multifamily-Rental-Financing-Program-Guide.pdf (§3.9.2) |
| Bowery 2023 (1816) | 7% residential; 3% retail; blended stabilized occupancy 94.35% | LLAYD file |
- Recommendation: 7% residential vacancy plus 1% credit loss, and 10% commercial.
- Fix in the prior Exhibit E.
- It layered 10% vacancy plus 5% collection loss, which is too punitive.
- It then grew the vacancy dollars at 3%/yr instead of taking a percentage of gross revenue each year.
- It also summed only the deductions into "Total Effective Revenue."
- Recompute EGI as GPR × (1 − vacancy − credit loss).
4. Operating expenses
Bowery stabilized pro forma for 1816 (6 × 1BR + 2 commercial; 5,760 SF NRA; LLAYD file):
| Line | $/SF | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Real estate taxes | $4.79 | $27,612 | Before CHAP (Bowery added the CHAP value separately) |
| Insurance | $0.75 | $4,320 | Comps $0.39–$0.80 |
| Utilities (common) | $0.25 | $1,440 | Tenants pay unit utilities |
| Water & sewer | $0.50 | $2,880 | Landlord-paid |
| Repairs & maintenance | $1.50 | $8,640 | Comps $0.86–$2.20 |
| G&A | $0.35 | $2,016 | |
| Management | $1.25 | $7,175 | 5% of EGI |
| Reserves | $0.20 | $1,152 | |
| Total excluding taxes | $4.80 | $27,648 | Comps $4.22–$5.13 |
| OER | 38% | PGI $152,100; EGI $143,505; NOI $88,270 |
Other benchmarks - MD DHCD 2026 guide. OpEx including taxes (excluding reserves) of $4,000–$9,000 per unit per year; reserves at least $300 per unit per year; operating reserve of 3–6 months. Waivers are available for projects under 40 units. — https://dhcd.maryland.gov/HousingDevelopment/Documents/rhf/2026-Multifamily-Rental-Financing-Program-Guide.pdf (§§3.9.3–3.9.5) - Insurance trend. Multifamily insurance premiums rose more than 75% in real terms from 2019 to 2024, and about 33% in one recent year (≈$180 per unit). These are national figures. — https://www.matthews.com/market_insights/rising-multifamily-insurance-costs-in-2025 - Inflate the Bowery 2023 insurance figure (+25–40%) → ≈$1.00/SF. - Line items the prior Exhibit E is missing. It modeled R&M at 5% of residential rent and left insurance, utilities, and management blank. Add every line; BDC's Exhibit E template lists them.
5. Cap rates
| Source | Figure | Notes | URL |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bowery appraisal (5/2023), 1816 N. Charles | 7.50% concluded | Comparable sales averaged 7.42% (range 6.00–7.78%); band of investment 7.86% | LLAYD file |
| Brokers surveyed by Bowery (Ben Frederick Realty, Brexton, Harbor Stone) | 6.50–8.00%; 7.00–7.50%; "7.00–8.00% likely for the subject" | Renovated small mixed-use in Baltimore City | LLAYD file |
| Situs-RERC 3Q22 / PwC Q1-23 (institutional multifamily) | 4.40% / 5.03% avg | Institutional grade; not comparable to a small walk-up | LLAYD file |
| CBRE U.S. Cap Rate Survey H1 2026 (published 8/2026) | All-property average "broadly stable" ≈6.6% | Class B/C and value-add compressed more than Class A; neighborhood retail compressed the most; infill multifamily had the most bearish outlook. No Baltimore-specific figure in the public summary. | https://www.cbre.com/insights/reports/us-cap-rate-survey-h1-2026 ; https://finance.yahoo.com/real-estate/articles/cbre-h1-2026-cap-rate-055007513.html |
| Marcus & Millichap / aggregator (search summary) | Multifamily all-class average ≈5.6% | National or institutional context; source quality is low (UNVERIFIED for Baltimore small assets) | https://www.marcusmillichap.com/research/market-report/baltimore/baltimore-2026-investment-forecast-multifamily-market-report |
| Rates backdrop | 10-yr Treasury 3.80% at the Bowery date (Bowery used it as the CHAP discount rate) vs ≈5.0% now | A higher risk-free rate argues against compressing below 7.5% | LLAYD file; CNBC below |
- Recommendation: 7.50% going-in, 8.00% exit, 7.0–8.5% sensitivity.
- Small mixed-use sales data. Harbor Stone Q2 2025 lists small Station North and Mount Vernon trades (e.g., North Commons, 16 units, 1808–1816 St. Paul St., Feb 2025), but prices were not disclosed. — https://harborstoneadvisors.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/Baltimore-City-Q2-2025.pdf
6. Interest rates and lending terms
CDFI and public lenders
| Lender | Terms | URL |
|---|---|---|
| NIIF | Real-estate loans up to $3M at 5.0% fixed, ≤1.5% origination. Construction: 18–24 mo interest-only, ≤80% of as-completed value. Term: ≤7 yrs, full or partial amortization, ≤95% of as-stabilized value. Acquisition: ≤3 yrs interest-only, ≤90% of as-is value. Bridge: ≤3 yrs interest-only. Predevelopment: ≤$2M. | https://www.baltimoreniif.org/financing/real-estate-loans/ |
| MD DHCD Small Business Lending Program (successor to Neighborhood BusinessWorks) | Direct loans up to $2M; Companion and Own Your Future loans up to $5M; 4% fixed; terms up to 30 yrs; collateral and personal guarantees required; excludes 100% residential. Competitive round closes 9/17/2026, 11:59 PM. | https://dhcd.maryland.gov/Business/Pages/NBW.aspx ; https://news.maryland.gov/dhcd/2026/07/08/maryland-department-of-housing-and-community-development-announces-small-business-lending-program-competitive-round-for-low-cost-loans/ |
| MHT Historic Preservation Loan Fund | Fixed rate = State GO bond rate + 0.125%. For-profits must show they cannot get private financing. Requires a preservation easement. 6–9 months to settle. | https://mht.maryland.gov/funding/loans-historic-preservation |
| Bank / CDFI perm debt | No published Baltimore quote found. Market convention is roughly 10-yr Treasury + 200–300 bp, so ≈7.0–8.0% (UNVERIFIED). An aggregator lists Baltimore commercial construction rates from ≈6.10% (HUD 221(d)(4)) to 12% (hard money). | https://apartmentloanstore.com/baltimore/maryland/commercial-construction-loan-rates |
Hard money (Maryland / Baltimore)
| Source | Rate | Points | Leverage | Term | URL |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HardMoneyScout (data dated 9/17/2026) | 8.99%–13.50% (CoreVest 8.99%; Chesapeake HM 9.00–12.50%; Lima One 9.00–13.00%; Kiavi 9.50–13.50%; RCN 9.24–12.99%) | Chesapeake: 2 | Max LTV 80–90% (lender-advertised) | — | https://hardmoneyscout.com/hard-money-lenders/maryland/baltimore |
| Search summary of market data | Q1 2026 Maryland average 11.19% | Average 1.3 pts | Average LTV 61%; average loan $329K | — | https://www.homelight.com/blog/buyer-hard-money-lenders-maryland/ ; https://www.biglawinvestor.com/marketplace/hard-money-lenders/maryland/ |
| Hard Money Bankers (Q2 2025 data) | First lien 9.5%–12% (average 10–11%); second lien 12%–14% | 1–4 pts, most often 2–3 (MD average ≈3.7 cited) | 70% ARV; 85% LTC | 12 mo standard (6 mo – 3 yr); interest-only with balloon; closing costs 2–5% | https://www.hardmoneybankers.com/hard-money-points-maryland/ |
| LLAYD actual — Nextres loan on 1816 (serviced by FCI) | 15.00% fixed (25% default rate) | — | $527,490 on a $300K purchase | Originated 6/26/2023; matured 4/1/2026 | LLAYD file: FINANCIAL_SUMMARY_1816_N_Charles.md.txt |
- Recommendation for a last-resort bridge: 12% interest-only, 2.5 points, 12-month term with a 6-month extension (+1 pt), ≤70% of ARV / ≤85% of cost.
- Model risk: LLAYD's actual 15% cost (see Nextres row above).
- Also flag in the model: the prior Exhibit D used a 14.9% primary loan rate, and a "financing fees (14%)" line. Both signal distress to BDC. Replacing them with NIIF at 5% is the central fix.
7. Property tax
| Item | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Baltimore City real property tax rate | $2.248 per $100 (FY2027) | https://www.baltimorecity.gov/bbmr/city-tax-rates |
| Maryland State real property tax rate | $0.112 per $100 (FY2026, all non-utility real property) | https://propertytaxrates.org/blog/maryland-property-tax-guide-2026 ; confirmed on the 1816 FY26 bill (LLAYD file) |
| Combined rate for the model | $2.360 per $100 (2.360% of assessed value) | Sum of the two rows above |
| Homeowner rate cut | FY2026 cut ≈20¢ for owner-occupied homes only. Not applicable to rental or mixed-use. | https://www.baltimorecity.gov/finance/real-property-taxes ; https://www.baltimorecity.gov/mayor/property-tax-reduction-strategy |
| Special Benefits District surcharges | $0.125–$0.2239 per $100 depending on district; Midtown CBD is $0.132. The 1816 FY26 bill shows none; confirm for 1818 and 1820. | https://www.baltimorecity.gov/bbmr/city-tax-rates ; https://www.midtownbaltimore.org/surcharge |
| Prompt-payment discount | 0.5% if paid by July 31 | search summary of https://www.baltimorecity.gov/finance/real-property-taxes |
| Current assessment, 1816 | $230,000 → FY26 tax $5,428 | LLAYD file |
| Post-rehab assessment | Bowery projected $195/SF of GBA (comps $151.73–$229.01, average $196.99) | LLAYD file |
Fix in the prior Exhibit E: it applied taxes to a flat $1.4M value with no CHAP credit and no growth. Model the city tax as follows: - Base: pre-rehab assessment × 2.248%. - Plus: (post-rehab assessment − base) × 2.248% × (1 − CHAP credit %). - Plus: state tax on the full assessment. - Reassess every 3 years.
8. Construction cost for gut rehab of historic rowhouses
| Source | Figure | Relevance | URL |
|---|---|---|---|
| MD DHCD construction/rehab cost limits (rev. Feb 2025), statewide, per SF, excluding contingency | Rehab: townhome/cottage $277; non-elevator stacked ≤4 stories $202; garden $173; elevator 5+ $210. New construction: $227–$271. | Best public benchmark; these are caps for affordable projects | https://dhcd.maryland.gov/HousingDevelopment/Pages/ConstructionCostLimit.aspx |
| Search summary (Buildora IQ) | Baltimore residential construction $210–$360/SF | Low-authority aggregator | https://buildoraiq.com/construction-cost-estimator/baltimore |
| Local contractor blogs | Baltimore home renovation $90–$250/SF; plan 10–20% contingency for pre-1970s homes; MD labor +5–8% in 2025 | Single-family remodels; low end is cosmetic | https://www.dandicontractorsllc.com/post/planning-a-full-home-remodel-in-baltimore ; https://lynchdesignbuild.com/renovation-vs-remodel/ |
| Investor sources (2026) | Full gut of a vacant Baltimore rowhouse $80K–$120K; lead-paint work adds $5K–$25K | Small single-family; not mixed-use with sprinklers, egress, or commercial code | https://the-mindful-landlord.com/blog/brrrr-strategy-patterson-park-baltimore-2026 |
| Recent comparable projects | Equitable Building ≈$30M (≈180 apartments + 26,000 SF retail); Remington 60-unit mixed-use $13–$14M (≈$225K/unit, all-in); Art House 160 units $37M (≈$231K/unit) | All-in TDC per unit | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Equitable_Building_(Baltimore) ; https://baltimorefishbowl.com/stories/remingtons-newest-apartment-building-is-expected-to-open-in-the-second-quarter-of-2027-at-a-cost-of-13m-to-14m/ ; https://baltimorefishbowl.com/stories/artists-housing-six-story-160-unit-37-million-apartment-building-proposed-for-baltimores-station-north-area/ |
| JLL 2026 construction outlook | Costs up 39% since 2020 (vs 26% CPI); tariffs keep pressure on | Escalation | https://www.jll.com/en-us/insights/2026-us-construction-perspective |
| RLB Q2 2026 | Inflation ≈1% per quarter; steel, aluminum, and copper spiking on tariffs | Escalation | https://www.rlb.com/americas/insight/rlb-construction-cost-report-north-america-q2-2026/ |
| NYS HFA term sheet (Winter 2026) | Hard-cost contingency 5% new construction; 10% rehab / adaptive reuse | Industry norm | https://hcr.ny.gov/system/files/documents/2026/01/hfa-term-sheet-and-financing-guide_winter-2026.pdf |
Recommendation - Hard costs: $250/SF of GBA for a full historic gut. That covers new MEP, sprinklers for mixed-use R-2 over M/B, a new roof and windows to CHAP standards, masonry repointing, lead and asbestos abatement, and vanilla-box commercial. - Ranges: $200/SF (lean) to $325/SF (4-story with a new top-floor addition or elevator). - Contingency and escalation: add 12.5% hard-cost contingency and ≈4%/yr escalation to the construction midpoint. - Check against the prior submission: it carried only $1.2M hard costs for 1820. At $250/SF that covers ≈4,800 SF of GBA. Confirm 1820's GBA (not stated in the RFP; land is 1,655 SF on 4 floors plus basement, so likely ≈5,000–6,600 SF gross). UNVERIFIED. - Where to put the real numbers: Tyjuan Amor's trade bids (PROJECT_HUB bid packages in the LLAYD files) should replace these benchmarks in the budget. Keep the benchmarks as the "reasonableness" check BDC asked for.